An appraiser is the person who decides the market value of a home based on its condition and the selling prices of comparable homes recently sold in the area. The appraiser computes a fair estimate of market value to help the lender decide a reasonable loan amount.
What are the requirements to become a Registered Trainee Appraiser?
To become a Registered Trainee Appraiser in the state of Florida you must:
• Be at least 18 years of age
• Have high school diploma or GED
• Complete and pass the state approved 75 hour course (at least 15 hours covering USPAP)
• Submit application to the Division of Real Estate with the appropriate fee
There is no state examination to become a Registered Trainee Appraiser. You only need to complete the 75 educational hours and pass the final exams associated the course. A state examination is required for licensed and certified appraisers.
A State Registered Trainee Appraiser is a person registered with the Department of Business and Professional Regulation (DBPR) and qualified to perform appraisal services under the direct supervision of a licensed or certified appraiser. A registered trainee appraiser may accept appraisal assignments only from her or his primary or secondary supervisory appraiser. A registered trainee real estate appraiser may only receive compensation through or from the primary supervisory appraiser.
Mandatory Post Licensing is now required for Registered Trainee appraisers. If you wish to maintain your status as a Registered Trainee you must complete 45 classroom hours of Board approved Post Licensing courses plus the 3 hour Florida Appraisal Law Update course before the end of your second renewal period. Florida law requires that Post Licensing courses be completed in class, not online.
In addition all registered, licensed and certified appraisers must satisfactorily complete a minimum of 30 hours of appraiser continuing education approved by the Florida Real Estate Appraisal Board, without duplication of material, during each renewal period (which is two years). The 30 hours must include: (1) the 7-hour National Uniform Standards of Professional Appraiser Practice (USPAP); (2) at least 3 hours of review and update of the Florida Real Estate Appraisal License Law and Board Rules, including an introduction to other state and federal laws affecting real estate appraisals; and (3) a minimum of 20 "specialty" hours approved by the Florida Real Estate Appraisal Board, without duplication of material. These three topics complete the 30-hour continuing education requirement.